Published Works by David Rix:




In these nine linked stories and novellas involving Feather, the Wandering Girl and protagonist of What the Giants were Saying, David Rix weaves an enigmatic web of fictions, at the shifting intersections of Slipstream, Horror and Science Fiction. Haunting and emotion-centric, they explore themes of isolation and loneliness - and the magic of human encounters, no matter how small.

Shortlisted for the Edge Hill Prize

What the Giants Were Saying

A starkly and vividly strange fable on creativity and wind turbines.


As Editor

Rustblind and Silverbright

A book of railway stories that aimed to look far beyond what you might expect from classic horror or sci-fi.  Like any good journey, the scenery of this book is ever-changing.  You will ride the rails of language and imagination through many and varied places – some almost unendurably disturbing, some bleak and miserable, some surreal and strange, some touching and moving, some absurd and comical, some exquisitely beautiful.

The anthology Rustblind and Silverbright has been shortlisted for the British Fantasy Award in the category Best Anthology - winners announced this september!



Selected Other Publications

Spiral - David Rix


In Monster Book for Girls, Exaggerated Press, 2011

Strange Tales 3 - Tartarus Press

The Book of Tides

In Blind Swimmer, Eibonvale Press, 2010

Strange Tales 3 - Tartarus Press

A Taste of Casu Marzu

In Strange Tales III, Tartarus Press, 2009


The Magpies, a Novella

In Strange Tales II, Tartarus Press, 2007


Number 18

In Strange Tales, Tartarus Press, 2004

The overall book won the World Fantasy Award for best anthology 2004













About me - About Feather - Bibliography - In Progress - Articles - Blog - Contact